BFU – Beratungsstelle für Unfallverhütung

isolutions accompanied a versatile Cloud Transformation project at the BFU. From the migration of local servers to the introduction of Microsoft Teams and the intranet ahead, a lot was involved. One of the core of the project is the unique AI-Uploader, which professionalizes and automates the management of the image database of the BFU by means of artificial intelligence.

As a competence center, the BFU conducts research and provides advice to help reduce the number of serious accidents in Switzerland – in road traffic, at home, in leisure activities and during sports. It has had a public mandate for these tasks since 1938. From research to advice, education and communication: the BFU offers accident prevention from a single source. Around 130 employees are committed to safety in Switzerland and work closely with national and international partners.

 
bfu
 
Unique AI-based solution
Easy collaboration
Increased participation rate in the intranet

Initial situation

The BFU’s server landscape was previously on-premises. All applications, backups and the Exchange server were also kept local. The internal IT team managed all equipment itself and software distribution was handled by a local application server. The BFU used SharePoint on-premises for shared storage and collaboration. Skype for Business was used for internal chats and calls.

Solution

isolutions accompanied the Cloud Transformation at the BFU. In addition to the Exchange server, SharePoint was also migrated from on-premises to the Microsoft Cloud. Microsoft Teams is now used for internal communication. This means that calls to the outside world are also possible without any problems. The intranet “ahead” complements the possibilities for internal communication and collaboration.

One of the core elements of the project at the BFU is the “AI Uploader”. The BFU uses an image database for its versatile campaigns. The “AI Uploader” serves as an interface between SharePoint and the Azure Cognitive Services and is easily accessible and integrated into ahead. Using artificial intelligence, each uploaded image is analyzed and then automatically tagged. Employees only need to select the correct portal for filing, with the “AI Uploader” also providing support. The process used to take more time, but now everything is done in seconds and highly automated. The success rate is very high and saves the employees of BFU valuable time in their daily work.

In addition, isolutions and BFU together defined a governance and information architecture for the use of the new collaboration solutions, such as Microsoft Teams. In addition, isolutions supported the BFU in training the users. Software distribution and device management are now handled via Azure Active Directory and Intune. Here, too, great importance was attached to a profound training of the IT admins. The BFU is now proud owner of a Surface Hub, an interactive screen for meetings and collaboration. Finally, all servers and applications will be moved to the Microsoft Cloud in the coming months. Wherever possible, the BFU intends to consistently focus on Software-as-a-Service solutions. In connection with its own .NET developments, the BFU intends to continue working with isolutions.

«With isolutions we have found a competent partner who can help us with the decided Move2Cloud, both with the "big picture" and with the implementation of small details. The project has been a complete success so far and also enables the BFU employees to do efficient work from home.»

Peter Schoenthal, CIO, BFU – Beratungsstelle für Unfallverhütung

Benefits of the solution

  • Company-wide uniform communication with increased participation rate (ahead)
  • High time saving for image upload
  • Uncomplicated collaboration, e.g. thanks to screen sharing and collaborative document work
  • Simplified client management via Intune and deployment via Autopilot

Further success stories

id-group.org – Digital workplace

BFU – Cloud Transformation

SBB – User Adoption and Cultural Change

VöV – Collaboration and Cloud

TMI – Rebuilding the IT infrastructure

Education – Collaboration Software

Patrimonium Workplace as a Service

Infront – Seamless contract management

SGKB – Instruction management

Linen weaving mill Bern AG

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

Yuanda Europe

Klett und Balmer – Document Management

BFU – Beratungsstelle für Unfallverhütung

isolutions begleitete ein vielseitiges Cloud Transformation Projekt bei der BFU. Von der Migration lokaler Server über die Einführung von Microsoft Teams und dem Intranet ahead war vieles dabei. Eines der Herzstücke des Projektes ist der einzigartige AI Uploader, der mittels künstlicher Intelligenz die Bewirtschaftung der Bild-Datenbank der BFU professionalisiert und automatisiert.

Als Kompetenzzentrum forscht und berät die BFU, damit in der Schweiz weniger folgenschwere Unfälle passieren – im Strassenverkehr, zu Hause, in der Freizeit und beim Sport. Für diese Aufgaben hat sie seit 1938 einen öffentlichen Auftrag. Von der Forschung über die Beratung und Bildung bis hin zur Kommunikation: Die BFU bietet Unfallprävention aus einer Hand. Rund 130 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter setzen sich für die Sicherheit in der Schweiz ein und arbeiten dabei eng mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern zusammen.

 
bfu
 
einzigartige KI-basierte Lösung
unkomplizierte Zusammenarbeit
gesteigerte Partizipationsrate im Intranet

Ausgangslage

Die Serverlandschaft der BFU war bis anhin On-Premises. Auch alle Applikationen, Backups und der Exchange-Server wurden lokal gehalten. Das interne IT-Team hat alle Geräte selbst betreut und die Software-Verteilung erfolgte über einen lokalen Applikations-Server. Für die gemeinsame Ablage und Zusammenarbeit nutzte die BFU SharePoint On-Premises. Skype for Business wurde für interne Chats und Anrufe verwendet.

Lösung

isolutions begleitete die Cloud Transformation bei der BFU. Neben dem Exchange-Server wurde auch SharePoint von On-Premises in die Microsoft Cloud migriert. Für die interne Kommunikation wird neu Microsoft Teams verwendet. Damit sind auch Anrufe nach aussen problemlos möglich. Das Intranet «ahead» ergänzt die Möglichkeiten zur internen Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit.

Eines der Herzstücke des Projektes bei der BFU ist der «AI Uploader». Für ihre vielseitigen Kampagnen nutzt die BFU eine Bild-Datenbank. Der «AI Uploader» dient als Schnittstelle zwischen SharePoint und den Azure Cognitive Services und ist einfach zugänglich in ahead integriert. Mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz wird jedes hochgeladene Bild analysiert und dann automatisch getaggt. Die Mitarbeitenden wählen nur noch das korrekte Portal zur Ablage aus, wobei sie ebenfalls vom «AI Uploader» Unterstützung erhalten. Der Prozess beanspruchte früher mehr Zeit, nun geschieht alles in Sekundenschnelle und stark automatisiert. Die Erfolgsrate ist sehr hoch und spart den Mitarbeitenden von BFU wertvolle Zeit im Arbeitsalltag.

Ergänzend wurde von isolutions und BFU gemeinsam eine Governance und Informationsarchitektur für die Nutzung der neuen Kollaborationslösungen, wie Microsoft Teams, definiert. Zudem unterstützte isolutions die BFU bei der Schulung der Anwender. Die Software-Verteilung und das Gerätemanagement erfolgen neu via Azure Active Directory und Intune. Auch hier wurde Wert auf eine profunde Schulung der IT-Admins gelegt. Die BFU ist neu stolzer Besitzer eines Surface Hubs, ein interaktiver Screen für Meetings und Zusammenarbeit. Schliesslich sollen in den kommenden Monaten noch alle Server und Applikationen in die Microsoft Cloud verschoben werden. Wo möglich, will die BFU konsequent auf Software-as-a-Service Lösungen setzen. Im Zusammenhang mit ihren eigenen .NET-Entwicklungen will die BFU weiter mit isolutions zusammenarbeiten.

«Wir haben mit isolutions einen kompetenten Partner gefunden, der uns beim beschlossenen Move2Cloud sowohl beim «Big Picture» wie auch bei der Umsetzung von kleinen Details weiterhelfen kann. Das Projekt war bis anhin ein voller Erfolg und ermöglicht den BFU-Mitarbeitenden auch effizientes Homeworking.»

Peter Schoenthal, CIO, BFU – Beratungsstelle für Unfallverhütung

Nutzen der Lösung

  • Firmenweite einheitliche Kommunikation mit gesteigerter Partizipationsrate (ahead)
  • Hohe Zeitersparnis beim Bild-Upload
  • Unkomplizierte Zusammenarbeit, z. B. dank Screen-Sharing und gemeinsamem Arbeiten an Dokumenten
  • Vereinfachte Verwaltung der Clients via Intune und Deployment über Autopilot

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten

SBB – User Adoption and Cultural Change

swenex – Teams Telefonie

VöV – Kollaboration aus der Cloud

TESTEX – isolutions als Ansprechpartner für die gesamte IT-Infrastruktur

id-group.org – digitaler Arbeitsplatz

TMI – Neuaufbau der IT-Infrastruktur

OEKO-TEX Cloud Transformation

Educationbereich – Collaboration Software

Patrimonium Workplace as a Service

Infront – Nahtloses Vertragsmanagement

SGKB – Weisungsmanagement

Leinenweberei Bern AG

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

Yuanda Europe

Klett und Balmer – Dokumentenmanagement