Verband öffentlicher Verkehr (Association of Public Transport)

A modern collaboration environment from the Cloud with Microsoft 365 and Azure.

The Verband öffentlicher Verkehr (VöV) is the Swiss national umbrella organization of public transport companies. Its members include over 130 transport companies as well as around 180 companies from business and industry. In some areas (law, finance, IT, HR, communication, graphics and translation), VöV works together with the national public transport tariff organization Alliance SwissPass and the Swiss Cableways Association (SBS). The above-mentioned services are provided to Alliance SwissPass and SBS  by the specialist departments of VöV. Thanks to this specialist pool system, the three organizations use synergies and benefit from a joint infrastructure. The association represents the interests of its members vis-à-vis politicians, authorities and third parties, and coordinates the transport companies in national tasks. VöV was founded as a cooperative in 1889 and is based in Bern.

 
VöV
 
 
Seilbahnen Schweiz
 
 
Alliance SwissPass
 
3
Partners with the same collaboration environment
Ultra-modern, location-independent workplace
Transparent costs

Initial situation

Because the current infrastructure – based on on-premise servers and rigid licensing structures – was not satisfactory, the infrastructure concept was rethought. Regarding servers, no new hardware was to be purchased and everything was to be migrated to the Cloud instead. In addition, a complete client management system was to be introduced.

When it came to software, VöV was also completely lacking a collaboration environment. For instance, it was previously not possible to work together on documents or share a screen view in a meeting. Communication took place mainly via email. VöV, together with Alliance SwissPass and SBS, wanted to have a shared cutting-edge working environment and thus be able to appear more modern and efficient.

Solution

The existing server landscape was consolidated and rebuilt in the Cloud on Microsoft Azure. In addition, the server infrastructure was extended by client management via Intune. The association now also benefits from mobile device management, which enables it to manage smartphones and tablets so as to ensure data integrity.

To evaluate the requirements to be met by a modern collaboration solution and to make an initial assessment, isolutions carried out a collaboration assessment together with the VöV, Alliance SwissPass and SBS. Subsequently, the implementation of Microsoft 365 was planned with a particular focus on SharePoint and Teams. The above-mentioned needs could be met without any problems thanks to the effective functionalities of SharePoint and Teams. Predefined templates now allow the association to create new work areas for collaboration quickly and easily. In addition, VöV and its partners benefit from a location-independent and state-of-the-art working environment with the latest collaboration technologies.

All of these implementations were accompanied by two training courses for power users. The rollout was also intensively supported by isolutions, including regular Q&A sessions. The remaining employees were trained in the use of the new tools by VöV and its partner associations. Governance was drawn up jointly in order to define consistent and clear guidelines for working with the new collaboration solution. Finally, user satisfaction was surveyed in a review workshop.

"The cooperation with isolutions was extremely pleasant; a goal-oriented and efficient interdisciplinary project team was quickly formed, which achieved the project goals at a very high quality and within the planned time and budget.
The focus on business needs and on the collaboration between our organizations with external contacts - as opposed to technology only - was extremely helpful, stimulating and exciting."

Carlo Zingg, Head of IT and Business Analysis, Member of the Executive Board VoeV

Benefits of the solution

  • Consolidated IT environment
  • Simplified operation of hardware and software
  • A single toolset with Microsoft 365 instead of various isolated applications
  • Standardzsed working methods between VoeV, Alliance SwissPass and SBS
  • A modern workplace with the ability to work from anywhere and access documents at any time

Further success stories

id-group.org – Digital workplace

BFU – Cloud Transformation

SBB – User Adoption and Cultural Change

VöV – Collaboration and Cloud

TMI – Rebuilding the IT infrastructure

Education – Collaboration Software

Patrimonium Workplace as a Service

Infront – Seamless contract management

SGKB – Instruction management

Linen weaving mill Bern AG

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

Yuanda Europe

Klett und Balmer – Document Management

Verband öffentlicher Verkehr

Eine moderne Kollaborationsumgebung aus der Cloud mit Microsoft 365 und Azure

Der Verband öffentlicher Verkehr (VöV) ist der nationale Dachverband der Transportunternehmen des öffentlichen Verkehrs. Seine Mitglieder sind über 130 Transportunternehmen sowie gut 180 Unternehmen aus Wirtschaft und Industrie. In einigen Bereichen (Recht, Finanzen, IT, HR, Kommunikation, Grafik und Übersetzung) arbeitet der VöV mit der nationalen ÖV-Tariforganisation Alliance SwissPass und dem Verband Seilbahnen Schweiz (SBS) zusammen. Alliance SwissPass und SBS beziehen die entsprechenden Dienstleistungen von den Fachabteilungen des VöV. Dank dieses Fachpool-Systems nutzen die drei Organisationen Synergien und profitieren von der gemeinsamen Infrastruktur. Gegenüber der Politik, Behörden und Dritten vertritt der Verband die Interessen seiner Mitglieder und koordiniert die Transportunternehmen bei nationalen Aufgaben. Der VöV wurde 1889 als Genossenschaft gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in Bern.

 
VöV
 
 
SPS
 
 
Alliance Swiss Pass
 
3
Partner mit der gleichen Kollaborationsumgebung
top-moderner, ortsunabhängiger Arbeitsplatz
transparente Kosten

Ausgangslage

Da die aktuelle Infrastruktur – basierend auf on premise Servern und starren Lizenzstrukturen – nicht zufriedenstellend war, wurde das aktuelle Infrastruktur-Konzept neu überdacht. Im Serverbereich sollte keine neue Hardware mehr angeschafft und stattdessen in die Cloud migriert werden. Ausserdem sollte ein komplettes Client Management eingeführt werden.

Auch im Software-Bereich hatte der VöV mit einer nicht existenten Kollaborationsumgebung zu kämpfen. Bislang war es beispielsweise nicht möglich, gemeinsam an Dokumenten zu arbeiten oder im Meeting eine Bildschirmansicht zu teilen. Die Kommunikation fand vorwiegend über E-Mails statt. Der VöV wünschte sich, zusammen mit Alliance SwissPass und Seilbahnen Schweiz, eine gemeinsame moderne Arbeitsumgebung zu erhalten und somit moderner und effizienter auftreten zu können.

Lösung

Die bestehende Serverlandschaft wurde konsolidiert und in der Cloud auf Microsoft Azure neu aufgebaut. Ausserdem wurde die Serverinfrastruktur mit einem Client Management über Intune erweitert. Neu profitiert der Verband auch von einem Mobile Device Management, welches es ihm ermöglicht, Smartphones und Tablets zu managen und so die Datenintegrität zu gewährleisten.

Um die Bedürfnisse nach einer zeitgemässen Kollaborationslösung zu spüren und eine erste Bestandesaufnahme zu machen, hat isolutions gemeinsam mit dem VöV, Alliance SwissPass und Seilbahnen Schweiz ein Collaboration Assessment durchgeführt. Anschliessend wurde die Umsetzung mit Microsoft 365 mit Fokus auf SharePoint und Teams geplant. Die vorhin genannten Bedürfnisse konnten dank der grossen Funktionalität von SharePoint und Teams problemlos gelöst werden. Vordefinierte Templates ermöglichen es dem Verband nun, schnell und unkompliziert neue Arbeitsbereiche für die Zusammenarbeit zu erstellen. Ausserdem profitiert der VöV sowie seine Partner von einem ortsunabhängigen und top-modernen Arbeitsplatz mit den neusten Kollaborationstechnologien.

Begleitet wurden diese Umsetzungen von zwei Schulungen für die Power User. Auch der Rollout wurde intensiv von isolutions betreut, unter anderem mit regelmässigen Q&A Sessions. Die Schulungen der restlichen Mitarbeitenden für die Nutzung der neuen Tools wurde vom VöV und seinen Partnerverbänden selbst vorgenommen. Um die Richtlinien zum Arbeiten mit der neuen Kollaborationslösung einheitlich und klar zu definieren, wurde gemeinsam eine Governance erarbeitet. Zum Abschluss wurde in einem Review Workshop die Zufriedenheit der Benutzer erfragt.

«Die Zusammenarbeit mit isolutions war äusserst angenehm und es entstand sehr schnell ein zielgerichtetes und performantes interdisziplinäres Projektteam auf Augenhöhe, das die Projektziele in einer sehr hohen Qualität und in der geplanten Zeit sowie mit dem geplanten Budget erreicht hat. Der Fokus aufs Business und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen unseren Geschäftsstellen und unseren externen Ansprechpartnern – und nicht nur auf die Technik – empfanden wir als sehr hilfreich, anregend und spannend.»

Carlo Zingg, Abteilungsleiter Informatik und Business Analyse, Mitglied Geschäftsleitung VöV

Nutzen der Lösung

  • Konsolidiertes IT-Umfeld
  • Vereinfachter Betrieb von Hard- und Software
  • Ein einziges Toolset mit Microsoft 365 statt verschiedene Insellösungen
  • Vereinheitlichte Arbeitsweisen zwischen VöV, Alliance SwissPass und Seilbahnen Schweiz
  • Ein moderner Arbeitsplatz mit Möglichkeiten, von überall her zu arbeiten und jederzeit auf Dokumente zugreifen zu können

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten

SBB – User Adoption and Cultural Change

swenex – Teams Telefonie

VöV – Kollaboration aus der Cloud

TESTEX – isolutions als Ansprechpartner für die gesamte IT-Infrastruktur

id-group.org – digitaler Arbeitsplatz

TMI – Neuaufbau der IT-Infrastruktur

OEKO-TEX Cloud Transformation

Educationbereich – Collaboration Software

Patrimonium Workplace as a Service

Infront – Nahtloses Vertragsmanagement

SGKB – Weisungsmanagement

Leinenweberei Bern AG

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

Yuanda Europe

Klett und Balmer – Dokumentenmanagement