Exchange Migration at Dr. Meyer Immobilien AG

Mail solution of the future

Since 1977, Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen has been a competent partner for private customers, pension funds, cooperatives and institutional investors in the real estate sector. The company has approximately 80 employees and is part of the Dr. Meyer Group, which is based in Bern.

 
Dr. Meyer
 

100

Mail storage

80

User
Cost savings

Initial situation

Up to now, Dr. Meyer Exchange 2010 has used onPremise in its own data center. The system had reached the end of its life cycle, could no longer meet the requirements and therefore had to be renewed. In the course of this renewal, the question arose whether it would still make sense to operate the Exchange infrastructure itself or to find another solution with the help of an external partner. As part of an in-depth analysis, it was decided to obtain the future e-mail services with Exchange Online from the cloud.

Solution

Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen AG migrated from Exchange 2010 onPremise to the cloud with Exchange Online. For this purpose, Office 365 was chosen, which enables access to SharePoint and OneDrive and contains all Office licenses. With Office 365, the user is offered 100 GB storage space per mailbox as well as unlimited storage space for archiving e-mails. Problems with local storage are therefore a thing of the past. Employees can now access their e-mails regardless of device or location. Flexible and efficient working is thus possible from anywhere.

"The DR. MEYER Immobilien AG, the contact for all questions relating to real estate, migrated over 80 mailboxes to the cloud in 2015. The replacement of the existing outdated mail solution with Exchange-Online was successfully implemented within a short time with the help of isolutions AG“.

Daniel Peter, Manager ICT, Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen AG

Benefits of the solution

  • Relief of IT: The maintenance effort for the internal Exchange Server is eliminated, so the internal IT can concentrate on other tasks.
  • Scaling: With this solution, scaling upwards, but also downwards is possible. With a classic in-house solution, scaling up is associated with investments – scaling down is often impossible.
  • Cost savings: Expensive upgrades of the Exchange Server to the respective new version are not necessary. Correct licensing is guaranteed at all times.
    Compliance: The archiving of all mailboxes to a Swiss-based partner for e-mail archiving ensures that compliance requirements can be met at all times.

Further success stories

id-group.org – Digital workplace

ZHAW – D365 Cloud Migration

BFU – Cloud Transformation

Schleuniger – with Dynamics 365 into the cloud

SBB – User Adoption and Cultural Change

VöV – Collaboration and Cloud

swenex – Teams Telephony

TESTEX AG – isolutions as single point of contact for the entire IT infrastructure

OEKO-TEX Cloud Transformation

brocki.ch – CRM and customer card

BSC YB Cloudmigration

Dr. Meyer – Exchange Migration

HLS – Cloudtransformation mit Microsoft Office 365

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

isolutions Referenz: FC Thun

FC Thun – Digital workplace

Exchange Migration bei Dr. Meyer Immobilien AG

Mail Lösung der Zukunft

Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen ist seit 1977 ein kompetenter Ansprechpartner für private Kunden, Pensionskassen, Genossenschaften und institutionelle Anleger im Bereich Immobilien. Das Unternehmen zählt ca. 80 Mitarbeitende und gehört zur Dr. Meyer Gruppe, welche ihren Sitz in Bern hat.

 
Dr. Meyer
 

100

Mailspeicher

80

Benutzer
Kosteneinsparungen

Ausgangslage

Bisher nutzte Dr. Meyer Exchange 2010 onPremise im eigenen Rechenzentrum. Das System war am Ende des Lebenszyklus angelangt, konnte die Anforderungen nicht mehr erfüllen und musste daher erneuert werden. Im Zuge dieser Erneuerung kam die Frage auf, ob es noch sinnvoll sei, die Exchange Infrastruktur selbst zu betreiben oder mithilfe eines externen Partners eine andere Lösung zu finden. Im Rahmen einer vertieften Analyse wurde beschlossen, die zukünftigen E-Mail Services mit Exchange Online aus der Cloud zu beziehen.

Lösung

Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen AG migrierte von Exchange 2010 onPremise in die Cloud mit Exchange Online. Dabei wurde auf Office 365 gesetzt, welches den Zugriff auf SharePoint und OneDrive ermöglicht und alle Office Lizenzen enthält. Mit Office 365 wird dem Nutzer 100 GB Speicherplatz pro Mailbox sowie unlimitierter Speicherplatz zur Archivierung der E-Mails geboten. Probleme mit lokalem Storage gehören somit der Vergangenheit an. Mitarbeiter können nun unabhängig vom Gerät oder dem Standort auf ihre E-Mails zugreifen. Ein flexibles und effizientes Arbeiten ist somit von überall möglich.

«Die DR. MEYER Immobilien AG, Ansprechpartnerin für alle Fragen rund um Immobilien, migrierte im 2015 über 80 Mailboxen in die Cloud. Die Ablösung der bestehenden veralteten Mail-Lösung durch Exchange-Online konnte mithilfe von isolutions AG innert Kürze erfolgreich realisiert werden.»

Daniel Peter, Leiter ICT, Dr. Meyer Verwaltungen AG

Nutzen der Lösung

  • Entlastung der IT: Der Wartungsaufwand für den internen Exchange Server entfällt, so kann sich die interne IT auf andere Aufgaben konzentrieren.​
  • Skalierung: Mit dieser Lösung ist eine Skalierung nach oben, aber auch nach unten möglich. Mit einer klassischen Inhouse Lösung ist eine Skalierung nach oben mit Investitionen verbunden – eine Skalierung nach unten ist oftmals unmöglich.
  • Kosteneinsparungen: Teure Upgrades des Exchange Servers auf die jeweilige neue Version entfallen. Die korrekte Lizenzierung ist jederzeit sichergestellt.
  • Compliance: Die Archivierung von sämtlichen Mailboxen zu einem in der Schweiz ansässigen Partner für E-Mail Archivierung stellt sicher, dass die Vorgaben bezüglich Compliance jederzeit eingehalten werden können.

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten

TESTEX – isolutions als Ansprechpartner für die gesamte IT-Infrastruktur

id-group.org – digitaler Arbeitsplatz

ZHAW – D365 Cloud Migration

brocki.ch – CRM und Kundenkarte

OEKO-TEX Cloud Transformation

BSC YB Cloudmigration

Dr. Meyer – Exchange Migration

HLS – Cloudtransformation mit O365

SBB Historic – Migration Exchange Online

isolutions Referenz: FC Thun

FC Thun – Digitaler Arbeitsplatz